Current projects

Been meaning to post here for a few days, but apparently never got around to it. Now there’s a surprise [/sarcasm]

But… I finished my practice scarf, which really ended up being a short practice tie-around-my-neck thing. The purpose of it was to make sure I liked the pattern I picked out for my mom’s scarf and to use of the last little bit of blue Ella Rae yarn I had. I had no idea how much I had left, except that it wasn’t enough to really do anything with, and  it was the same brand as I was knitting in for my mom, so it was really good for testing the pattern. I think if I bother to block it I could get just a little more length out of it, and it would look a little less silly tied around my neck.

I also started the scarf for my mom yesterday. So far it’s looking great and I’ve only had to rip out a couple of rows! (I don’t know how many times I messed up on the practice one… for some reason, yarn over, knit two together, knit two over and over just falls out of my brain every once in awhile and I suddenly find myself with not enough stitches, then do something wrong ripping it out and have to go back a few rows. :/

I must talk a minute about the yarn I’m using too! (Pictures will come later, I can’t be bothered to find batteries for my camera atm). I bought a 100g ball of Ella Rae Classics in white for a project that just never happened (the project also involved the blue ball I bought, which ended up being my mitts and the neck-thing). After the white sat around for awhile, it dawned on me that I would never ever ever wear anything that was solid white (and I had to make something wearable with it… it’s 100% wool!), so I should dye it. Now, I’d never dyed anything before, but that’s what the internet is for right?

I had a few things in my house that could be used as natural dyes, mostly in the tan-brown family, which worked out well, since I had already decided I needed to make something for my mom and she wears mostly earth-toney colors. I decided to go with coffee.

It came out a really pretty goldeny light brown/tannish, with just a tiny bit of just barely darker areas (I was attempting to go for more obvious darker areas, but failed at that). I love it and I think my mom will too.

The scarf of doom is coming along well. I’m just almost halfway done and it’s about as tall as I am. The being-knitted section of the blue box has been put mostly on hold because intarsia is annoying. I’m not really sure how I’m going to get through this one and two more side panels, but god damn it, I will have my own cuddly police box! I did start on the duplicate stitching part of the first panel and it looks pretty good. Windows are in place and it says “PO” XD

And I am now in the process of getting ready to begin to learn to spin.

Leave a Reply

